Shawn Grant



Phone: 812-285-6445
Fax: 812-283-3032

The Jeffersonville Fire Department was founded in 1871 and its ranks include full-time, professional firefighters who are member of International Association of Firefighters Local 558.

JFD provides fire suppression, heavy rescue, non-transport emergency medical care and HAZMAT response. The department also responds to all water rescue emergencies.

The Jeffersonville Fire Department serves approximately 48,000 residents in 30 square miles from 5 fire stations.


Jason Sharp, Deputy Fire Chief

Michael McCutcheon, Deputy Fire Chief                                                                                       Email:

Contact Us

Address: Headquarters, 2204 East Tenth Street
Hours: Monday – Friday: 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

Website: opens in a new window

Fire Merit Commission

The Jeffersonville Fire Merit Commission meets at 6 p.m. on the first Thursday of each month in the Mayor’s Conference Room at City Hall, 500 Quartermaster Court.

The Fire Merit Commission was created by City Council resolution 2008-R-029 and amended by resolution 2009-R-018, under the authority granted by Indiana Code 36-8-3.5. The Commission is responsible for hiring, disciplinary actions and promotions within the fire department. Under Indiana Code, its five members include appointments by the mayor (two), City Council (one) and International Association of Firefighters Local 558 (two).

The Fire Merit Commission will not consider applications for employment that come from sources other than the city’s Human Resources Department.

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window